This site uses cookies by Google to deliver services, personalize advertisements and analyze traffic. Information on the use of is shared with Google. By continuing to use this site you agree to our use of cookies.   Find out more  Close
› English

Greipel wins stage in 12 consecutive Grand Tours - Full statistic

Published: 2016-05-11   -   views: 12563

With his stage win in the Giro 2017 André Greipel has won at least 1 stage in the last 12 grand tours he started. How unique is this within the grand tour history? We computed a little statistic.

Table 1. Most consecutive wins riders active after 2000

NrRiderConsecutive winsTotal winsTotal Grand Tour starts
1 GREIPEL André122214
2 CAVENDISH Mark85117
3 HUSHOVD Thor61316
4 MCEWEN Robbie62321
5 SIMONI Gilberto51118
6 PETACCHI Alessandro54828
7 KITTEL Marcel5147
8 BETTINI Paolo4813
9 ZABEL Erik41318
10 BENNATI Daniele41222
11 NIBALI Vincenzo41217
12 DUMOULIN Tom478

Looking at riders active after season 2000, Greipel beats Mark Cavendish with 12 to 8 consecutive stage wins. If we look at the complete history, Eddy Merckx is the very best, winning in 14 consecutive grand tours.

Table 1. Most consecutive wins all time

NrRiderConsecutive winsTotal winsTotal Grand Tour starts
1 MERCKX Eddy146416
2 COPPI Fausto133114
3 HINAULT Bernard134113
4 GREIPEL André122214
5 GAUL Charly112114
6 LEONI Adolfo101810
7 BITOSSI Franco102416
8 GODEFROOT Walter9139
9 BARTALI Gino92922
All information and specifications shown on this website are based upon the latest available information provided by race organizations, teams and riders. No rights can be withdrawn from rankings, results or statistics as presented on this website.
  0.11533 sec.