Statistics on the five monuments

What are the monuments?

The five monuments in cycling are Milan-Sanremo, Tour of Flanders, Paris-Roubaix, Liege-Bastogne-Liege and Il Lombardia. They stand apart from the other classics and one day races in their history and the desire of riders to win them. On this section of the site you can find a range of statistics from who won the most monuments to the number of competitors per country.

The monuments

The monuments ordered by the first edition year.
First editionRaceLogo#Editions
1892 Liège - Bastogne - Liège110
1896 Paris - Roubaix121
1905 Giro di Lombardia117
1907 Milano-Sanremo115
1913 Ronde van Vlaanderen / Tour des Flandres108

Race characteristics

Each of the monuments have their own race characteristics. In the barchart below we have charted the rider specialties sprint (green) versus climber (magenta) for riders that finished top-20 in the last 10 years. The values are normalised to 100% so the it is easy to see which classics favor the climbers and which the sprinters.